Taco Tuesday Tostadas

I had other posts plan for this week, but you know. Life happened. We’re still hard at work on renovation plans, and more family room updates are to come (eventually), but I just had to share the recipe for these simple, clean out the fridge tostadas that I made for taco Tuesday last night.

I know, the picture isn’t great. I was so hungry I didn’t want to take the time to actually stage the photo. Instead, I snapped this pic mere seconds before I dug in.

tostada

Ingredients:

For the baked tortillas:

4 corn tortillas

pinch salt

cooking spray

For the toppings:

1 can refried beans

1 cup cooked brown rice

1 roma tomato, chopped

2 green onions, chopped

1/2 cup spinach, chopped

Optional garnishes: cheese, sour cream (or greek yogurt), guacamole, black olives, corn

 

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with cooking spray. Put four corn tortillas on the pan, spray each side with more cooking spray, and sprinkle some salt on top. Use a fork to poke each tortilla about four times, which will prevent them from rising. Set aside while the oven gets up to temperature.

Next, pour the refried beans into a pan and heat over a low flame. The beans are cooked, you just want to warm them. Stir every once in a while, to prevent sticking. Meanwhile, start chopping the tomatoes, green onions, and spinach and getting together the other toppings.

Once the oven reaches 400 degrees, cook the tortillas for about 4 minutes, flip them, then cook for 4 minutes more. Depending on your oven, you may need a bit more time. Once the tortillas were nice and crispy, I removed them from the oven and kept them warm until I was ready to serve the tostadas.

I always create a build-your-own bar when making these, but if you wanted to assemble them for others, I’d suggest topping the tortilla with the refried beans, then the rice (smashing down the rice a bit so it sticks in the beans), the spinach, the tomatoes, then all the optional, use whatever you have toppings like the cheese, sour cream, guacamole, etc.

Two were all I needed to fill my belly. We did have some beans and rice left over, so Dan mixed them together and we ate it as a dip with some tortilla chips we had.

I’

Leave a Reply

