Mini Gingerbread Loaf Neighbor Gifts

I love this gingerbread loaf. I first made it for last year’s Wreath Decorating Party as a last minute snack idea, and I’ve made it a ton since then. My mom even bought me a special pan with gingerbread people on it to use every time I make this yummy bread.

Friends always ask for the recipe, and a few have made it on their own with tasty results. So, when I began to think about what to bake our neighbors this year, gingerbread loaves immediately came to mind.

Each loaf took an hour plus to make though (including baking time), and since I only had one pan, I knew this would become quite a process. That’s when I got the idea to make this loaf into minis. They turned out great!

IMG_9606 (640x427)

I doubled the recipe, and it made 8 mini loaves. I had bought 6 ceramic mini loaf pans in an end of the season sale at Michael’s last year, and knew they would be perfect for this. We had to adjust the cooking time, so don’t forget to do that. The recipe calls for 55 minutes. We started checking on the loaves at 25 minutes, sticking a toothpick in each loaf to see if it was done. They probably spent about 35 minutes in the oven total.

Once the loaves cooled completely, we sprinkled them with powdered sugar, which really adds something to the otherwise spicier dessert.

IMG_9610 (640x427)

Then, we wrapped them in cling wrap, packaged them in Christmas favor bags, and added a tag (find it here – and it’s customizable!) with some curly ribbon.

IMG_9617 (640x427)

It’s a small, simple gift, but the packaging makes it look fancy! I really hope the neighbors like this treat as much as I do.

 

Leave a Reply

