These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

Oprah’s favorite things are fancy. Fortunately, mine are not.

My friends and I decided to do a “My Favorite Things” gift exchange this year. The guidelines are simple – gather some of your favorite things and put them together to create a gift, with the spend limit being about $20.

Now, $20 may not seem like a lot for a gift, but I promise you that it’s more than enough to put together a bunch of small items you love. I came up with many ideas for gifts like chamomile tea, Nutella, Method all purpose cleaner, Weber Grill spices, cashmere blend socks, Real Simple magazine, Uno card game, San Pellegrino Aranciata sparkling beverage, Essie nail polish, Bath & Body Works Linen Spray, and fleece lined tights, but cut that list down considerably.

Here are my favorite things:

IMG_9586 (640x427)

Yup, that’s a cow-shaped creamer. I’ve loved mine for years, and it always get a ton of complements when I bring it out for parties.

The pumpkin butter from Trader Joe’s may not seem like anything special, but it is delicious! Put it on toast. Put it on a bagel. Put it in your yogurt. Use it for pumpkin butter thumbprint cookies. So versatile.

Of course, I had to include some spirits in my favorite things. Though I don’t drink it in the winter, I think my all-time favorite liqueur has to be limoncello. Maybe because it’s from my homeland?

I’m seriously loving small, delicate, blingy jewelry these days. Believe it or not, Lauren Conrad’s earrings line at Kohl’s has some really cute stuff. These dainty and sparkly triangle earrings just make me happy.

Those little candles from Bath & Body Works are such a great little gift to give. People don’t usually buy themselves candles, so I love giving them as little splurges. I went with the Holiday scent, but it was a toss up between that one, Marshmallow Fireside, and Winter.

Big ice cubes are a must, so I included this handy little ice mold. I use them in everyday drinks like iced coffee, and Dan uses them for whiskey.

Finally, I included a mini panettone in the gift bag. If you haven’t had it, it’s a sort of sweet Italian bread with raisins and other fruit baked into it. I like to eat it for breakfast with my coffee during the holiday season. I had it every Christmas growing up, and I look forward to it every year.

I wrapped up my gifts in a fun chevron kraft Christmas bag and adding the cute printable tag that I found here.

The gift exchange happened over the weekend, during our annual friends’ holiday party, and I think this was the best one yet! I loved getting to see everyone’s favorite things.

I hope you get the chance to organize your own Favorite Things gift exchange this year. If not, the Favorite Things idea still makes for a great party in a big group of people. One of my friends from college hosts a Favorite Things get together every year in April. For that gathering, we all bring three of the same favorite things valued around $5 each, and everyone walks out with three cool new items. And if you don’t see yourself organizing any parties/gatherings related to Favorite Things, you can always use these ideas for stocking stuffers.

Leave a Reply

