Mini Eggnog Cheesecakes with Orange Cranberry Topping

Earlier in the week, I posted about the wreath decorating party that I hosted last weekend. I was so excited about sharing how all the wreaths turned out that I didn’t even mention the yummy treats we snacked on while we worked.

I wanted to make food that was easy to eat – in a bite or two – so we wouldn’t have to either stop decorating or wait until we were finished to eat. I came up with two items – a gingerbread loaf and mini cheesecakes. Unfortunately, the gingerbread loaf was cut, served, and eaten before I thought to snap a photo. Darn.

So, I’m going to share my mini cheesecakes.

IMG_9577 (640x427)

So colorful and festive!

I used this recipe as my starting point. I followed the recipe to the T, and the cheesecakes came out delicious. Still, I would change a few things next time.

First of all, the ratio of graham cracker crust to cheesecake seemed a bit off to me. I would use a bit less graham crumbs – probably reducing the total by a quarter of a cup – and maybe a tablespoon or two more butter.

For topping, I skipped the whipped cream and decided to add some color to the dessert by making a quick and easy orange cranberry topping. Just take 4 oz of fresh cranberries and warm them up in a pan with 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/4 cup white sugar until the cranberries pop and the mixture is mushy. For extra orange flavor, go ahead and add in some orange zest.

The rich eggnog flavor combined with the sweetness of the cheesecake and the tartness of the cranberry topping makes this quite a treat. Try them out for your next holiday party.

2 thoughts on “Mini Eggnog Cheesecakes with Orange Cranberry Topping

Leave a Reply

