Peanut Chicken with Udon Noodles

I’m always on the look out for a quick, easy dinner. The less prep/hands on time, the better. Last weekend, we had a gorgeous Sunday with highs in the 60s. In November. No one felt like cooking.

I knew we had some udon noodles in the pantry, so I thought making some sort of Asian dish would be easy. We always have frozen chicken around, and I thought we had some peanut butter in the pantry. Peanut chicken it was!

I found this recipe online, and made a couple changes. I substituted plain yogurt for coconut milk and white balsamic vinegar for red wine vinegar. The recipe didn’t say if the chicken should be thawed or if it would work with frozen chicken, so I just added the chicken while it was still frozen and put the sauce on top.

IMG_9499 (640x427)

I cooked on high for 4 hours, shredded the chicken, and added it back to the pot while I cooked the noodles as the package directed (with a bit of sesame oil). We didn’t have any cilantro, so we topped the dish with green onion instead.

IMG_9504 (640x427)

The total time on this couldn’t have been more than 20 minutes or so, not counting all the time in the crockpot. And it was delicious.

There are two things that make me really like this dish. First of all, every ingredient in the recipe is a staple I have on hand (minus the noodles). That’s the second thing – the peanut chicken can be served with a ton of options like rice, any kind of noodle (even spaghetti in a pinch), or even as the filling for lettuce wraps because of its thickness.

Given the ease of the dish, I know we’ll be making this recipe often. We definitely found a new meal to add into the rotation.

Leave a Reply

