Bonfire Apple Cider Donut Holes

Over the weekend, I attended a lovely bonfire gathering at a friend’s home. It was so much fun getting a chance to catch up with our group from college group – something we don’t get to do all that often.

There was so much food, lots of fall beer, and even spiked apple cider to enjoy all evening. I volunteered to bring a dessert, and knew s’mores were already on the menu. I wanted to make something a little different, and decided to try my hand at baking apple cider donut holes.

1017151321 (640x360)

I was so glad that they turned out to be a hit!

I found this recipe, and used it as my starting point, but I made some changes.

First, I didn’t have cloves on hand, so I reduced the apple cider with some mulling spices, mainly a bit of allspice. Next time, I plan to use more mulling mix. I think it will give the donut holes a deeper, autumn-y flavor.

I also used a babycakes cake pop maker (to get that perfect spherical shape) instead of a mini cupcake pan or a mini donut pan. I sprayed the maker to keep the holes from sticking, which gave the outside a bit of a crisp to it, like a fried donut. The baking time in the cake pop maker is super quick – about two and a half minutes.

IMG_9372 (640x427)

You may need to pick off a bit of the extra dough batter that bakes outside the pan well, but it should easily come away from the donut hole.

Finally, I think we goofed by using plain old apple cider. I thought it was weird that the bottle was labeled apple cider, but no cinnamon, cloves, allspice, etc. was added to what appeared to be apple juice. Next time, I’ll be sure to use fresh spiced apple cider, to have more of the spicy goodness in these little donut bites.

The small size of the treats worked great at the bonfire. We passed them around the fire a few times, and by the end of the night, I think only about five or so remained.

I’ll definitely be making these again and again this fall season.

 

Leave a Reply

