Quick and Easy Ham and Swiss Sliders

I hosted a few close friends for our annual luau a couple weeks ago. Oddly, no photos were taken, so I don’t have any to share with you guys.

Instead, I’m going to share the mini sandwiches I prepared for the party.

IMG_9217 (640x427)

They were a hit!

I started with this recipe, but changed it quite significantly. I thought there was just too much butter.

Ingredients:

15 Hawaiian rolls (I bought a 24 pack and had extra)

1/2 pound deli ham (I used Krakus)

1/2 pound deli Swiss cheese

Sauce:

2 tablespoons spicy brown mustard

3 tablespoons melted butter

2 tablespoons chopped onion (this is a spice, not fresh onion)

2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon poppy seeds (can be omitted)

Directions:

Start by preheating the oven to 350 degrees. While the oven heats, start working on the sandwiches. Cut the Hawaiian rolls in half, creating a top and bottom. Leave the bottoms without their tops.

Make the sauce by whisking all the ingredients together in a bowl. I gave approximate measurements above, as I wasn’t too careful with the measuring tools. The sauce shouldn’t be too thin or runny.

Spread a bit of sauce on each roll bottom. Top with one folded piece of ham and half a piece of cheese (folded in half). Add a bit more sauce on the top of the bun, and place it on top of the sandwich.

Spray a 9×13 pan with non-stick cooking spray and place the sliders into the pan. All should fit without stacking. Spray the tops of the buns just a bit, and cover the pan with foil. Bake for 15 minutes, remove the tin foil, and bake for about 5 minutes more.

They came out delicious – much more so than I thought a simple ham and cheese sandwich would be. I think that sauce is definitely the key. I had some leftover, and put them in the fridge. Dan heated one up when he got home and said they were great even re-heated.

Let me know how yours turn out!

 

One thought on “Quick and Easy Ham and Swiss Sliders

Leave a Reply

