Baked Chicken Parmesan with Zoodles

My oh my. My birthday came and went last weekend, which meant eating my favorite (fatty) foods. In excess. It was great.

Last night, I knew I needed to make a healthy meal to get myself back on the track to eating well. I had some zucchini I needed to use and I had made some pasta sauce last week, so I decided to make baked chicken parmesan and serve it over zucchini “noodles.”

IMG_9214 (640x427)

I know, zucchini “noodles” are not real pasta noodles. They don’t taste the same, like at all. You have to go into this knowing that and having the mindset that you’re having a side of veggies, not a side of pasta, with your meal.

I used Skinnytaste’s recipe for baked chicken parmesan. It was really good. The chicken was juicy, and the flavors were great.

For the zoodles, I looked at a few different recipes, and most served the zucchini raw. I didn’t think that would taste right, plus, the zucchini would have been cold since they had just come from the fridge. I decided to cook them just a little bit, so they would be warm, but not too long that they would become mushy. I heated up a wok, added a teeny bit of olive oil, then added the spiralized zucchini, along with a pinch of salt and pepper. I cooked them for only a few minutes, being sure to stir them and get some of their moisture out. At the same time, I heated some pasta sauce in another pan. When the zoodles were ready, I poured the heated pasta sauce into the wok and mixed the sauce and zucchini together.

To serve, I put the zoodles in a pasta bowl and put the chicken on top. The chicken pieces we had we so big, I ended up cutting one in half and it was more than enough for me. We had enough for dinner with some zoodles, the half chicken piece, and a whole other chicken piece leftover. I’ll be enjoying my leftovers for lunch today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

