Fifth Anniversary Gift Ideas

Five years? Dan and I have been married for five years? This was 5 years ago. Wow. Those years have completely flown by. It seems like just yesterday that I became a Mrs., but I guess I’m an old married lady now.

In keeping with past years (see gift options for the second anniversary, third, and fourth), I thought I would share some great gift ideas that I came up with while brainstorming what to get Dan for this, our 5th anniversary, which officially is tomorrow. You know, help those who got married just a little bit behind me come up with an awesome gift idea for your spouse.

The traditional fifth anniversary gift is wood, and in modern days, the gift is silverware. We didn’t really need any silverware, so I stuck to the wood idea. As you might remember, our gifts are typically smaller, and we sometimes even make a part of the gifts we give.

These ideas got my creative juices flowing:

Year 5

1. Is your man (or woman) a smoker? Not a smoker of cigarettes, but a smoker of meets? If so, he/she might love some smoking chips for the smoker. I found  these hickory chips at World Market, but hop online and I’m sure you can find some other great options. Round out the gift with some quality meats and you have yourself a great anniversary gift (and possibly dinner!).

2. Does your other love outdoor lawn games? Maybe it’s just me. But if they do, I think this croquet set from Target would be a huge hit! Once summer arrives, I live outside as much as I can. In fact, for my birthday last year, Dan gave me lawn jenga. If your spouse loves the outdoors too, or just likes unusual games, this gift is a great way to go.

3. Would your significant other happen to be a baker? If so, then they may love this embossing rolling pin on etsy. I think this would be such a cool baking tool to have in my kitchen. Sugar cookies would no longer be boring! And you can get the rolling pin customized to say whatever you want on your cookies. I think it would be really fun to have a Christmas message on the baking pin, since I bake cookies every holiday season.

4. Maybe your guy/gal is into wine or spirits. Don’t forget, wines and whiskeys are aged in barrels! That totally counts as staying with the wooden theme. Buy a bottle of your spouse’s favorite drink, and include these neighborhood coasters from Uncommon Goods, which are made of wood. They have twelve different cities you can choose from. It doesn’t have to be the city where you live now, but maybe where you enjoyed a great trip together, where you got married, where you met, etc.

5. Can your spouse keep plants alive? Do they enjoy doing it? Personally, my answers to those questions are no and no, but I wish I could respond in the affirmative. If yours would, these pocket geometric wooden planters are just too cute! They’re handmade and look absolutely darling with an air plant in them. Bring them to the office or display them at home for a great gift.

6. Is your husband/wife into creating art? They may love this watercolor pencils set from Blick. Pair the pencils with watercolor paper, a paintbrush, their favorite music to paint to, and tickets to your local art museum for a gift that includes a true art experience.

7. Are your wedding photos still just sitting on the CD you got from your photographer? If so, stun your spouse by having some of those photos printed onto wood to hang on your walls. This four piece art gallery set from Shutterfly would look great anywhere in your home, and you would get to relive your wedding day every time you looked at the photos.

8. Would your partner enjoy a nice bath at the end of a long day? If they really like to linger in the tub, this bathtub caddy from Anthropologie would be a great way to keep their magazines, books, candles, and wine out of the water while they soak. Pair the caddy with some fancy bath salts and a bottle of vino for a fun gift.

9. And finally, is your person a tea drinker? If they are a tea shop regular, or they work in a lab, then they would certainly enjoy this tea tube from CB2. Sure it’s mostly glass, but the top part is beechwood. Give the tea tube with some loose leaf tea and a new book you think they will enjoy and you have a cozy gift that anyone will love.

If none of those gifts sound quite right, check out my Pinterest page for even more ideas (including some DIY gifts!).

So what did I get Dan? Well, I can’t tell you just yet. We’ll give each other our gifts tonight, and since I know he’s an avid reader of my blog, I can’t divulge that information just yet or it will ruin the surprise. I promise to share that with you next week. In the meantime, I’ll be off celebrating 5 years of wedded bliss.

Leave a Reply

