Cindy’s Summer Sangria

Can you tell I’m itching for summer? Two summer food/drink posts in a week!

My mother in law makes the best sangria. The first time she served it at a family party, I was feeling pretty good after only one glass. How could this be? Usually a glass of wine watered down with a mixer didn’t have that effect on me.

When I asked for the recipe, I was surprised at the alcohol punch her sangria had. You’d never taste it. Good and bad for the summer months.

I’ve served this sangria at a few of my gatherings, and it’s always been a hit. So many people have asked for the recipe that I thought I’d share it here for all the blogging world.

use this

Ingredients:

1 bottle of wine, the sweeter (and cheaper), the better

1 quart of mixer (Sprite, lemonade, ginger ale, 50/50, etc.)

1 cup vodka

1/2 cup triple sec

Fruit

 

Did you notice that sneaky vodka and triple sec? That’s what gets you!

I really like that this recipe is it’s so customizable. For wine, I’ve used moscato, riesling, and even fruit wines like pear and rhubarb. I pour in whatever mixer I have on hand, which is usually a lemon-lime soda of some kind. And for the fruit, I’ve used fresh apples and strawberries mostly, but in a bind (or when I’m too lazy to cut up whole fresh fruit), I turn to frozen fruit and add it to the sangria pitcher right out of the bag! One thing I’ve never tried is using flavored vodka, but that’s mostly because we don’t usually have it. I’m sure any fruit flavored vodka would be great.

Now, many sangria recipes call for you to make the sangria, then let it sit and steep for a while. That’s why I like this recipe so much – you just add everything together and serve. In face, don’t prep it early because your mixer will lose its fizz. I’ve found that as long as you have your wine and mixer in the fridge, this sangria is pretty cold and ready to serve when made. Frozen fruit really does help keep it cool while it’s sitting out, but I guarantee you that if you make this sangria, it will disappear before it gets warm!

Leave a Reply

