Chalkboard Tree

I found this Christmas tree cutting board at a garage sale earlier in the year.

IMG_8331

It had scratches, but otherwise, was in pretty good shape.

I thought it would look neat as a Countdown to Christmas chalkboard. I debated stenciling the board with paint or paint marker and adding a little square of chalkboard paint to write in the changing number of days for the countdown. But then, I thought the whole tree could become a message board of sorts for the holidays. I ended up asking Dan to use chalk board spray paint on the whole thing.

IMG_8462

I loved it! You could still see some of the scratches, but I thought it made look vintage.

To make the tree stand, Dan cut down the trunk a bit and nailed a couple scraps of wood to the bottom to make a base.

I’ll probably change up where it lives in the house and the holiday message throughout the rest of the Christmas season. For now, I’m quite happy with the way it looks.

Leave a Reply

