Apple Pie Bars

Need a way to use up the rest of the salted caramel sauce you made from the pecan pie bars? I did, simply so I didn’t eat it out of the jar with a spoon.

I made apple pie bars.

IMG_8291

These are tasty, but they are kind of a pain to make. I’ll start at the beginning.

I found this recipe and decided to try it out for our group Friendsgiving. I liked that it was semi-homemade, using a mix as a base for the crust bottom of the bar. It was a time saver, which was really helpful when I knew I was baking multiple desserts. I also had some of the homemade caramel sauce around, so I used that instead of the caramel apple dip.

Problem #1: Getting the crust mixture onto the baking pan. The crust dough is super sticky and would not spread evenly. I used a spatula, I used my fingers, I used flour for my fingers, and I even sprayed cooking spray on my fingers. Nothing helped. Eventually, I got an even layer of crust, but it was a pain in the butt.

Problem #2: The baking time seemed way off to me. After 25 minutes, the middle was still jiggly. I continued baking for 5 minute increments for at least 15 minutes longer. Maybe it was the swap of caramel sauce to blame, but I was getting worried that the crust would burn while the top was still uncooked. Eventually, I took the pan out and hoped when cool the bars would firm up. Luckily, they did.

Problem #3: The icing was too thick to drizzle. I used more water than called for in the ingredients. You need to.

I would make these again, because they were so good, but I’d prepare myself for an epic battle with the crust.

Leave a Reply

