Ree’s Friendsgiving Chocolate Pie

I love Ms. P-Dubs. Note: She gave herself that nickname. That’s part of why I love her.

Of course, I’m talking about Ree Drummond, Pioneer Woman. When I saw her recipe for chocolate pie, I thought of a few chocolate-lovers in my life that I’m sure would really enjoy having  a piece.

Luckily, most of them were at a Friendsgiving gathering that my dear friends, Lauren and Kyle, hosted yesterday.

I followed the recipe exactly. There is no way to improve it. It’s just that good.

IMG_8261

That is the one piece that was left. Mind you, there were  nine adults there, and I made another dessert too (which I’ll share with you later in the week).

Ree didn’t specify what kind of crust was best to make with this (she suggests store-bought graham cracker or oreo). I decided to use the homemade graham cracker crust my mother-in-law uses with her banana cream pie.

Graham Cracker Crust:

1 3/4 graham cracker crumbs

1/4 cup white sugar

8 tbsp melted butter

Combine all ingredients well and press into a 9 inch pie pan. Bake at 375 degrees for about 6 minutes.

I poured the chocolate pudding into the crust before the crust was completely cooled and it was fine. Then, I refrigerated the pie uncovered overnight, so it would really firm up.

For the topping, I just took a hand mixer to 4 ounces of whipping cream (which is the amount that was left in the half pint carton of whipping cream after I made the pudding), and spread it on top of the cooled, already had been in the fridge overnight, pie.

The night of Friendsgiving, after I went home, I received 2 “the pie is delicious” texts, and my husband ate the last piece of pie shortly after the above photo was taken.

Conclusion: Make this pie.

Leave a Reply

