And Year 4

A week after we celebrated our 4th anniversary I bring you a collection of gift ideas to celebrate yours.

Now, this is a weird year is you’re sticking with the traditional gifts. It’s the year of fruits and flowers, traditionally, and appliances if you’re going the modern route. Hmmm…fruits and flowers. What do you do with that? Here are some of the  ideas I floated around my brain when trying to figure out what to get Dan.

Image

1. To me, nothing tastes better with breakfast than fresh squeezed OJ. This juicer from West Elm will help you make it. I really like the classic white ceramic with labeling style.

2. How about this cute flower-shaped cork screw from Crate and Barrel? It’s like killing two birds with one stone if you give the gift of the corkscrew (flower) with a bottle of your spouse’s favorite wine (fruit). Win-win.

3. This might be stretching the whole flower concept, but I thought this camera strap with a floral print (from etsy) would make a great gift. We got ourselves a nice camera, but the strap is so boring. The strap packs a colorful punch and won’t break the bank.

4. OK, this one is more a gift for me than Dan. I’ve gotten into sending snail mail more these days, so I would love this personalized letterpress wildflower stationery set (again, from etsy). The letterpress makes it fancy.

5. We’re just finishing up a kitchen renovation and are now in the “pretty-ing” stage where we’re looking for colorful art accents for the space. The minute I saw this blueberry fruit art print (yes, from etsy), I was sold.

6. Perhaps this came to me because we have a new home with a backyard, but I thought the gift of a fruit tree (this one happens to be lemon) would be a great idea. See it grow through the year…just like your love. Awww, how sappy. Just go to a nursery and see what they have. If you’re in an apartment or other smaller space with no room for a big tree, they have dwarf fruit trees that can live inside on an end table or in a window.

So what did we actually give each other?

Dan got me hot pink petunias and potted them in a vintage watering can and a yellow tin basin turned pot. I had been wanting to get some colorful flowers/pots for the front of the house now that we did a mini-facelift of the front of the house. Sorry that I don’t have a photo. It’s 63 and rainy as I’m typing this and I don’t see myself getting outside to take photos.

I gave Dan a homemade limoncello kit – vodka, 10 lemons, sugar, and a resealable bottle. We’re making the limoncello this weekend and I’ll be sure to let you know how it turns out. To go with it, I found a limoncello art print that was designed by the artist who created the blueberry art print that I liked so much!

Image

I originally saw the print on pinterest, which led me to etsy, but was bummed to see it was no longer available. When I mentioned this to a friend of mine, she told me she has the limoncello print, and she found it at Ikea in a pack of 3 prints by the same artist for only $9. The print says “Summer without limoncello isn’t summer.” So true!

 

 

Leave a Reply

