White Pizza

Given how horribly cold/dreary/snowy it has been in Chicago as of late, I thought I’d post about some warm comfort food I made recently – white pizza.

 Image
We made our own dough, but usually, we’ll just buy some at the grocery store when we’re there. I really like the kind from Trader Joe’s, and I think they have a few different varieties – regular, whole wheat, and herb and garlic, maybe?
In any case, we had some fresh mozzarella in the fridge I knew we should use soon, so I thought a white pizza would be a good way to go.
Ingredients:
Store-bought or homemade pizza dough
16 oz fresh mozzarella cheese, cut into circles and kept out for a few hours
8 cloves garlic, minced
Olive oil
Parmesean cheese (to taste)
Italian seasoning (to taste)
To start, pre-heat the oven to 425 degrees and roll out the dough.
Mix the olive oil and minced garlic together and brush it onto the dough.
Add the mozzarella, trying to keep the layer of cheese fairly even.Image
Add the parm and seasoning to the top and bake for about 20 minutes until a little crispy.Image
Note that it’s kind of important to have the mozzarella sit out to dry up for a bit. Otherwise, your pizza will be soggy as the water starts coming out of the cheese.
You can add whatever other toppings you want – red onions, spinach, thinly sliced tomato, etc.
I just may be making white pizza this evening to warm up!
4 thoughts on “White Pizza

  1. Interesting about leaving the mozzarella out to try. Brent and I did not do that, but I didn’t notice that it made a difference. We didn’t put as much on as you did though, so maybe that’s why? Where do you get your mozzarella, I also feel like I can find a better quality. I just grabbed the first thing I saw last time I was shopping which was jewel brand…..

  2. We do use a lot of mozz, which is what causes the watery-ness sometimes. I have noticed that the smaller the pieces of mozz are, the less watery the pizza gets. We don’t get anything too fancy. We buy the 2 pack of mozzarella logs from Costco. The brand is Bel Gioioso.

  3. We did use pretty small pieces of mozz, so I guess that was it. We don’t go to Costco, but maybe I’ll see what else is out there. Although I don’t think I’m that picky. I’m always just curious to see what you use especially when it’s for Italian dishes. I just assume you have all these family secrets 🙂

Leave a Reply

