DIY Desk Re-Do

In my last guest room post for the week, I thought I’d share our desk rehab.

I wish I had a better before picture, but by the time I realized I didn’t have one, the desk was already disassembled.Image
You can kind of see the deep scratches and the poor condition of the stain. This guy was in rough shape, but I couldn’t get over how charming the carved wood looked when I laid eyes on it at a yard sale. There is even a hole for an inkwell if you pull the bottom drawer out!It was quite a piece.
Apparently, the lady selling it bought the desk years ago with the idea to refinish it, as her husband did this as a hobby. He never got around to it, so they decided the desk had to go. I actually looked at it for a while, and then walked away. We were still living at the apartment, and were in the process of packing, so I couldn’t quite justify bringing a new piece of furniture home.
We got back in the car, drove for a few blocks, and I immediately regretted not purchasing it. We didn’t have any cash on us, so we stopped at a bank and headed back to the yard sale. The lady saw us coming and said she knew we’d be back. After some haggling, we walked away with it for $7.
It sat unfinished for months, first in the spare room at the apartment and then in the way unfinished guest room at the house. We couldn’t quite figure out what we wanted to do to freshen it up. New stain? Paint?
Finally, we had some teal colored paint left over from another project, and I thought the desk would look great in such a deep blue color. Dan took the desk apart and we got to painting. It really didn’t take as long as I thought – just 2 coats of paint and 2 of sealer. It got a whole new lease on life.Image
I think my favorite part of the desk is our decision to use some leftover Martha Stewart brand gold paint for the carved wood parts and the other cut outs. It really makes the intricate wood work pop.Image
We liked the blue and gold mix so much that it became our inspiration colors for the whole room. I had already bought the blue rug, so we started leaning toward finding a yellow comforter to play off the gold in the desk. Same thing when we were debating what color to spray paint those frames – we kept coming back to gold.
I think the desk and the shelves create a cozy little corner in the room for a guest to get some work done on their laptop or just go online for a bit. I still want to get some cute paper to leave in the desk, and I definitely want to do something with that bentwood chair eventually, but I’m quite happy with it as it is right now.
Leave a Reply

