Please, Enter

As I tried to figure out where to start my house tour, I thought what better place to start than the entryway? It’s the first part of the house guests see when entering my home.

 Here’s the original look, wallpaper, carpet, mirrors,  and all.IMG_5738
Our first step was ripping out the carpet. Who puts carpet in an entryway? Ugh. Luckily, it was a quick project.
Next came the AWFUL task of removing the silver foil wallpaper and mirrors than had been up for decades. I’m try to get to explaining the wallpaper removal process in a future post, but I can’t talk about it yet. I haven’t recovered from the trauma.Here is a “during” shot:
IMG_6093
The basement door and door to the garage were painted and given new brushed nickel hardware. We made the decision to get rid of the ugly Christmas colored tiles. That took our tile guy a whole lot of leveling to make the floor flat again so the new white plank tiles could be laid. We also swapped out the light fixture with this simple one from Ikea.IMG_6242
Finally, we painted the inside of the front door and the trim to match all the other wood in the house (why the painter missed this, I have no idea). The closet doors were re-hung (and are now a shiny white). We also re-did a vintage slat bench with blue paint, dip dyed in silver and bought a jute rug to accessorize the space – you can see them peaking into the photo.
IMG_6746
We still are hunting for a coat rack, and we desperately need to get some art up on the walls, but I think we’re in pretty good shape, considering where we started. I hope I’ve piqued your interest in what’s to come!
One thought on “Please, Enter

Leave a Reply

