Spaghetti Squash Stir Fry

Spaghetti squash was on sale at the store last week. I’d never had one, but in the hope of being healthy, I bought it to see what I could make with it.

I ended up deciding to make a stir fry, using the spaghetti squash “noodles” in the place of rice. Plus, I used the stir fry as an opportunity to use up all the veggies that have been sitting in my fridge.

Though this stir fry takes a while to make, the steps are really easy.

Img_2278

Here’s what you need:

1 spaghetti squash

Veggies: I used an onion, green pepper, mushrooms, and even peas

1 tbsp canola oil

garlic powder, salt, pepper, to taste

1 cooked, cubed chicken breast

2 tbsp soy sauce

1/4 tsp sesame oil

1 tbsp rice vinegar

1/4 cup hoisin sauce

sriracha, to taste

Start by pre-heating the oven to 375. Slice the squash in half lengthwise and scoop out the seeds. Place each half cut side down on a cookie sheet.

Once the oven reaches temperature, put the squash in for about 55 minutes, checking after 45 minutes to make sure your squash doesn’t turn to mush.

I knew the squash was done when I stabbed it with a fork. You will easily be able to pull the squash into strings. It should look like this.

Img_2268
Then, I just started pulling the squash into strings.

Img_2270

I got a large amount – much more than I expected – from the one squash.

Img_2274
When the squash has been turned into noodles, chop up the veggies and heat the oil in a skillet. Cook the veggies and add in the garlic powder, salt, pepper, soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, hoisin sauce, and sriracha. Just before the veggies are fully cooked, add in the chicken.

Finally, when the chicken is warmed, add the squash noodles. Keep cooking until the noodles are heated, then, serve.

Img_2277
4 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Stir Fry

  1. This looks delicious – I want to try it…they also make a great filler in corn tacos with some seasoning, black beans, onion, queso fresco and some salsa verde (and cilantro, but I don’t like it!)

  2. Thanks, Lauren. It was really tasty.That’s a great tip to use squash in tacos to make them heartier than just the standard beans and/or veggies. I’ll be trying that out soon!

  3. Try microwaving the spaghetti squash instead of baking it. Same results! It’s also delicious just with a little bit of pepper and parm!

  4. Thanks for the tip, Jules! I microwave butternut squash before I roast it, and it definitely cuts down on cooking time.

Leave a Reply

