Coconut Lime Tart

I wish Spring would get here, pronto.

Again, in my desire to make believe that spring has finally sprung, I whipped up a truly refreshing spring-time dessert that I brought to Easter.

Img_2239

Using this recipe as my base, I went ahead and made some modifications to use ingredients I either had on hand, or knew I would use again. For example, I just could not see my future need for coconut flour, so regular old bleached flour it was for me.

My substitutions:

Crust – I used whole wheat flour instead of spelt flour. Side note: What is spelt flour?

Filling – Plain bleached flour instead of coconut flour

Garnish – I added chopped pistachios right on top of the whole tart

I also didn’t have a rectangular tart pan. I didn’t have an 8 inch springform pan either. So, I used what I did have – a 9 inch springform pan. I’m not sure I’d use it again, as it made the tart filling be a really thin layer.

Finally, I have no idea what the heck the parchment paper was all about. All it seemed to do was mess up the edges of the tart. I’d go without the paper next time around.

I found this dessert to be subtle-y sweet, an not over the top. My favorite part was definitely the nut-based crust, as opposed to a standard graham cracker crust. It really gave the tart a wonderful flavor.
Leave a Reply

