Orange Rosemary Cornmeal Cake

Over the weekend, I went to my parents’ house for dinner.

Offering to bring dessert, I thought I’d go for something spring-y in the hopes that maybe spring will arrive in Chicago sometime soon. Yeah right.

I also wanted something with a bit of an Italian element to it, as we’d be eating a Sunday night staple growing up – Dad’s homemade pizza.

I decided to try out this cake.

Img_2132

Though I followed the directions perfectly, and my baking powder was new, I was sad to see that the cake didn’t rise nearly as much as I thought it would.

Even with its general flat-ness, the cake was a hit. The combination of the orange and rosemary was delicious. And chopping the rosemary into the sugar made the kitchen smell amazing.

Img_2124

The batter was very thick, so I thought the cake would come out heavy. Not at all – it was super light.

Img_2122

I definitely recommend making this. I’ll be giving it another try to see if my second attempt rises more. If not, I’d still make this cake to use as a part of some other dessert, like perhaps an ice cream or yogurt parfait drizzled with limoncello. Hmmm…maybe I’ll make that parfait anyways!

Leave a Reply

