No-Meat Fridays, Week 4: Rosemary and Garlic Potato Flatbread Pizza

Week 4 of no meat on Fridays. This is really cutting into our date night options, as if we go out, I usually tend to pick a meat dish. I didn’t really notice that until I realized I couldn’t have 3/4 of the items on a menu. I don’t know how vegetarians do it!

As such, we’ve taken to cooking in on Fridays, so I’ll be able to enjoy a delicious meat-free dish each week.

This dish is definitely a keeper. Yes, it would seem like this is carb overload, but it really didn’t feel that way as I ate it. Plus, the flatbread seemed like it was a kind of a fancy meal. Definitely restaurant-level quality. Pair with a good wine and you have yourself a great stay-in date night.

Img_2118

Ingredients:
1 lb pizza dough
1 clove minced garlic
1/2 cup olive oil
1 thinly sliced red potato
1-2 tablespoons of rosemary
Grated Parmesan cheese – to taste
Sea salt and pepper- to taste

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

I started with store bought dough from Trader Joe’s.

Img_2112

I went with a kind I hadn’t tried before – garlic and herb. I highly recommend it. You can make your favorite dough recipe – just up the amount of garlic and rosemary you add. Let it sit out for about 20 minutes, then roll it out to a 12 inch square.

Put the olive oil, pepper, and garlic in a small bowl,

Img_2111

and brush it onto the dough.

Img_2114

Spread the thing potato slices out onto the dough. Try not to stack the potatoes.

Img_2115

Top everything off with the sea salt, pepper, and Parmesan cheese.

Bake for about 15-20 minutes, until the crust turns a little brown and the potatoes are soft and fully cooked.

Img_2117

I thought this was a great quick and easy Friday dinner.

Leave a Reply

