Wreath Decorating Party

Last night I hosted a wreath decorating party for a few of my friends.

Dscn4283

We bought some wreaths from Alive Rescue, as one of their fundraisers, and thought it would be fun to decorate the wreaths together. My friend Erin and I did this last year, and it was fun to add more people to the tradition this year.

I kept mine simple this year and created some silver glitter stars ahead of time to attach to my wreath.

Can you guess what the stars are made from?

Dscn4228

A cereal box!

I used cookie cutters and free-handed a large star onto the cardboard and cut them out.

With a pencil, I drew lines from the center of each star to the points. Then, I traced over the lines with an exacto knife.

I did the same thing for the folds inward.

After some cardboard bending, I got some pretty cool looking 3D stars.

Dscn4255

To get them sparkly silver, I had Dan spray paint them using some silver paint we had laying around. After they dried, I dabbed on  two coats of sparkle paint.

Not exactly the most difficult craft in the world, but I was very pleased with the result. They look like shiny metal stars, which was exactly the look I was going for.

Dscn4282

All in all, a fun night of wine, more Elf, glue guns, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

