After Thanksgiving Dinner…Another Big Dinner

What did Dan and I do after eating two (yes, two) Thanksgiving dinners on Thursday? Why, we invite my parents over for dinner on Friday.

Let me explain.

On Thanksgiving, Dan and I see both sides of the family, though not for very long. To compensate, we see my parents the day after Thanksgiving, and Dan’s family on the Saturday after Thanksgiving. Yep, it’s a busy weekend.

We also always decorate the house, while watching Elf, the day after Thanksgiving. It’s a pretty jam packed day.

This year, I thought I’d keep it simple with the food we were preparing, and went with dishes that didn’t take too long to prep or cook.

The menu:

Shrimp cocktail appetizer
Turkey meatloaf with balsamic glaze (we made them in mini loaf pans to cut down on cooking time)
Creamy cauliflower puree
Balsamic roasted asparagus
Honey glazed baby carrots
Mini cannoli cream cups

For decorations/table settings, I just went with the holiday decor I put out that morning. The one little extra touch I did was make place cards. I used a scallop hole punch and some place card holders from C&B that my mom gave me last year. I made these a good 20 minutes before my parents showed up.

Dscn4232

Unfortunately, in the rush of the day, I took virtually no photos of the food or prep. Of course.

Here is one of the table before we chowed down.

Dscn4231

And here are the cute mini cannoli cups.

Dscn4238

They weren’t exactly the same, but they were a fun dessert to make.

I very much enjoyed all of the family time over the last few days.

And now, back to Monday.

Leave a Reply

