Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Over the weekend, I went with my family to the Morton Arboretum out in the western suburbs. According to the Today weekend show, this was the best weekend in the Midwest to see fall foliage in all it’s glory. I think that prediction was correct. It was a gorgeous day, where I was able to take some photos like this

Dscn4119

and this.

Dscn4118

After we left, we went back to my in-laws’ house and carved pumpkins.

Yeah, I should have taken a photo of our pumpkins. But I didn’t.

I did sift through all the pumpkin guts to salvage the seeds from about 4 of the pumpkins for the express purpose of making roasted pumpkin seeds. They came out delicious.

Dscn4143

I took them home in a large freezer bag, and, at the advice of my sister-in-law, soaked the seeds in salt water overnight. It removed all the pumpkin gunk and infused the seeds with some salt.

Dan strained the seeds out of the water and put them in a bowl.

Dscn4141

We added some olive oil, paprika, chili powder, cumin, and garlic powder, just enough to coat the seeds.

Put them on foil lined baking sheets and bake them at 300 degrees for about 45 minutes, stirring the seeds occasionally.

Dscn4142

I ended up getting quite a few seeds – about 3 containers full. I only took a photo of this one.

Dscn4144

It’s a great, fairly healthy fall treat.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

  1. Thanks, the seeds are pretty tasty. We ended up getting a ton of seeds, so we’ll definitely bring you guys some. We haven’t carved that second pumpkin yet either, so we’ll definitely be making more seeds from that.The pictures are pretty. I only stopped to take a few though – I wish I had taken more!

Leave a Reply

