Bleeding Heart Scones

Does anyone remember the scones from Bleeding Heart Bakery in Chicago? They were so good.

I featured them in a post where I made some apple butter to go with them.

Scones

Seriously the best, most filling, yet oddly healthy scones I’ve had.

Imagine my sadness when I found out that Bleeding Heart closed their doors. Was this scone gone forever?

After doing some googling, I was happy to find out that one of the owners had given a newspaper featuring the bakery the recipe for the scones! I whipped them right up, and had a lovely weekend breakfast.

Dscn4094

I followed the recipe as I found it:

8 oz butter
1 cup all purpose flour
1.5 cups wheat flour
2/3 cup brown sugar
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp baking soda
1.5 cups old fashioned oats
3/4 cups any dried fruit (I used a berry mix)
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
4 tbsp flaxseed
3/4 cup milk

Tip: Buy the dried fruit, pumpkin seeds, and flaxseed in the bulk section of the grocery store. That way, you can buy only what you need. I think I got more than enough flaxseed for about $0.80.

Start by cutting the butter into smallish pieces, and freezing them for at least an hour.

Next, stir together the flour, sugar, cinnamon, baking powder, and baking soda. Add the frozen butter chunks in and mix until the butter pieces are about the size of a pea.

Add the oats, fruit, pumpkin seeds, and flax seed. Stir until mixed thoroughly.
Finally, add in the milk and mix just until combined. The mixture will be very solid, and not at all runny.

Dscn4086

Roll the dough as you would for cookies, leaving the dough about 1.5 inches thick.

Dscn4090

Use a 2.5 inch circular cookie cutter (or biscuit cutter, or even drinking glass), and cut out the scones.

Dscn4092

I repeated the process a couple times to get 13 scones. I used the dough I was left with to make one larger, heart-shaped scone.

Dscn4091

Bake for about 28-30 minutes at 375 degrees.

Mine didn’t come out the same. They were very tasty, but I could tell they weren’t quite right. Still a great scone though.

Leave a Reply

