Birthday S’more Cupcakes

Last night, a bunch of my friends got together to celebrate the birthday of my dear friend, Liz.

Whole_group

She requested I bake a dessert for the group, and she specifically requested a s’more cake, like the one I made for our friend Lauren’s birthday a while back.

Dscn2241

Cakes are rather unwieldy to bring out, so I didn’t think that was the best way to go. Instead, I came up with a way to make s’more cupcakes.

Dscn4002

It was actually pretty easy.

I started by making a plain old chocolate cupcake. My favorite recipe is:

1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup cocoa powder
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup canola oil
1/3 cup milk chocolate chips

Put all the ingredients together in a bowl. Stir with a wooden spoon. That’s really it.

I used my large cookie dough scoop to spoon batter into cupcake liners.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, turning once during the cooking process.

Once you can pull a clean toothpick out of them, they are done.

Now is when I started getting fancy.

Once the cupcakes were cooled, I took a cupcake corer and cored out each cupcake.

Dscn3997

For the filling and frosting, I mixed one tub of Cool Whip with one jar of marshmallow fluff. Whip until the mixture is very light.

I took about a quarter of the frosting and transferred it to another bowl. There, I added 3 crushed up graham crackers and mixed it all together.

Dscn3999

The graham-Cool Whip-marshmallow fluff combination is what I put inside the cored out cupcake middles.

Dscn4000

I used the frosting sans graham crackers to top off the cupcake.

For decoration, I took bits of graham cracker, crumbs, and some shiny sprinkles and put those on top.

Dscn4001

They were a hit.

Happy birthday, Liz!

Dscn4006

Leave a Reply

