Open Face Grilled Tuna Salad Sandwich

Continiung on with the catch-up posts due to the blog issues I was having last week, I’m sharing with you the open face grilled tuna salad sandwich I made from our delicious Farmer’s Market finds.

Tuna_4

I’ve had this sandwich before (Dan’s parents are big fans and have made this for us), and it tastes so good every time I have it. I’m wondering why I don’t make it more often.

It’s a simple dish.

Start by making tuna salad as you usually do. I prefer it with mayo and celery to give it some crunch. Once you have it made, set aside.

Next, start up your grill and brush olive oil onto sliced pieces of bread.

Tuna_2

I have to warn you, I don’t think there is any bread better than the kind we have. It really makes the sandwich. The bread is from the Wheaton French Market, which is a Farmer’s Market. The bakery itself is Great Harvest Bread Co.

Tuna_1

Once the pieces have been oiled, put them on a hot grill. It only takes a couple minutes to get each side nice and toasted.

Tuna_3

Add the tuna salad on top of the grilled piece of bread and anything else you might want on there too (cheese, tomato slices, etc.). If you want to melt the ingredients, put the sandwich back on the grill for a few minutes. I skipped that step.

We ate it with some fresh sweet corn (also from the same Farmer’s Market) that was tossed on the grill at the same time as the bread. A light warm weather dinner that is sure to please.

Leave a Reply

