Thrift Store Series – Cut N Seal

Usually, I share a craft I’ve made from some item I picked up at the thrift store. Not today.

I found this guy at the thrift store a little while back.

Dscn3788

It’s a food prep item. I usually steer clear of these in the thrift store because it kind of weird me out. I thought it was an interesting tool, so I decided to go for it. I must have hand washed it 10 times and run it through the dishwasher more than that.

I saw it was from Pampered Chef, so I thought it was a great find. When I got home, I googled it to see if I got a good deal. I definitely did.

I paid $0.45 for the Cut N Seal. Pampered Chef sells them for $9.50.

I was most surprised at this item’s versatility. I thought it was basically just a ravioli maker.

Apparently, other uses include sandwich maker (like those Uncrustables), tart maker, and even hand pie maker. I couldn’t believe it! I’ve been wanting these mini pie makers from Williams-Sonoma for quite a while.

Ws_hand_pies

And I’ve loved this electronic mini pie maker too, but clearly wouldn’t buy it if nothing else because it’s another appliance I don’t have room for in my kitchen.

Ws_pie_maker

My Cut N Seal can make mini pies that look almost identical!

Anyways, to start, I used the Cut N Seal this first time to make ravioli. Homemade pasta dough, homemade sauce, and homemade ravioli filling.

Dscn3800

I encountered some bumps along the way, like dough that stayed sticky and underestimating the time it takes to cook the pasta (fresh pasta is supposed to cook quickly!), but it was a good learning experience. Confession: I’ve never made my own homemade pasta sauce, or “gravy” as my family calls it. This time was a great start, and I took a lot of notes to improve it for the next time. They say every Italian woman has her own special recipe – no two sauces taste the same. Looks like I’m well on my way to having sauce that’s distinctly “Christina’s gravy.”

One thought on “Thrift Store Series – Cut N Seal

  1. A friend gave me one of those lil Cut-N-Seal tool, and Ravioli was my first thought for it. Pies never occurred to me! Oh boy, I’m gonna get FAT!

Leave a Reply

