Rocky Road Brownies

Friday night was a celebration of sorts. My friend, Lauren, celebrated a birthday during the week, and we all gathered at a Music in the Park in Millenium Park for a low key party.

Dscn3721

I knew the dessert I brought would have to be a chocolate one, since the birthday girl and many of the other attendees are big chocolate fans, so I tried to figure something out that was new and different. I ended up making rocky road brownies.

Dscn3719

I can’t eat enough ice cream in the summer, and if there was an easy way (like not having ot take a huge cooler on the el) to bring ice cream to the concert, I would have. Instead, I decided to try to replicate the flavor in brownie form. I was successful.

Dscn3718

Start with yoru favorite plain brownie recipe. I make my brownies with more a fudge consistency, as opposed to a cake-like taste. To my basic recipe, I added the following:

1/4 cup chopped peanuts

1 cup miniature marshmallows

3 squares of German baking chocolate, chopped

Just add those 3 extra ingredients to your batter, mix until combined, and bake the brownies at 350 in a 9×13 inch greased pan for about 28-30 minutes. That’s it.

Dscn3714

In a pinch, go ahead and use a brownie mix and doctor it up with the peanuts, chocolate, and marshmallows. This is a great recipe to make brownies from a box taste homemade.

 

Leave a Reply

