Oatmeal To Go

On weekdays, I eat breakfast early. Like so early that I never thought I’d willingly be up so early. Like 6am early. You can laugh now.

But one thing that is true is that eating early throws off my whole day. I’m starving by 10:30am on most days. I found the cure for my eating troubles: the oatmeal to go jar. I bring it and eat it at work.

Oatmeal_2

And yes, this is a photo from work, using my phone.

I know, I know. I could bring bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs, etc. to eat at the office. For some reason, I found it difficult to pack those items up and bring them with me in the mornings. Not so with the oatmeal jar.

I came up with my own recipe based on this one from skinnytaste.

1/4 cup old fashioned oats
3/4 cup of skim milk
1/4 of a banana
1/2 cup of blueberries
handful of craisins
pinch of cinnamon
1 packet Sweet ‘N Low

Dump the oats, milk, banana, blueberries, craisins, and cinnamon in a mason jar. Refrigerate overnight.

Oatmeal

Before eating, add in the Sweet ‘N Low.

I like this as a cold oatmeal, but you can always let is sit out if you prefer it warmer.

I haven’t tried it yet, but I think you can substitute in any fruit you have on hand for the blueberries and banana. I have some strawberries in the fridge I’ll go ahead and add in next time to mix it up.

You can adjust how much milk you want in your oatmeal. I upped the amount from the original recipe because there were bananas that remained outside the 1/2 cup of milk I poured in. I wanted to make sure the banana was fully in the milk, so it wouldn’t get gross overnight. Plus, I like a lot of milk in my cereal, so I really liked the extra liquid in my oatmeal. Adjust accordingly.

Leave a Reply

