Skinnier Taco Dip

I made this skinny taco dip to bring to the party I went to on the 4th of July.

Dscn3571

It was a very simple appetizer to put together, and I was quite pleased at the healthy substitution of greek yogurt for sour cream.

Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients:
1 32 oz tub of plain greek yogurt
1 can of refried beans
1 can of black beans
1 packet of taco seasoning (I used jalapeno and onion flavored)
3 roma tomatoes
3 green onions
about 6 ounces of shredded sharp cheddar cheese (we grated the cheese ourselves, so this is just an approximation)

Start by smoothing out a layer of refried beans on the bottom of a 9×13 casserole dish. I wish I had a glass one to see all the layers, but this one from C&B had to do.

Dscn3569

Next, mix up the greek yogurt and the taco seasoning. Spread that layer over the refried beans.

Drain and rinse the black beans. Add those to the top.

Dscn3570

Shred the cheese. I only added enough for a thin layer because I was trying to keep it healthier, but add as much as you want.

Finally, cut the tomatoes and green onions and add them on top. I left off the green onions until the very end before serving, so the onion flavor didn’t overpower the dip. Then I forgot to take a photo. Go figure.

Dan made me nervous about trying a skinny recipe out for the first time at a party, but it got great reviews.

Next time, I’ll definitely want to up the spice factor. Perhaps some jalapeno peppers on top will give the dip some extra kick. Otherwise, I’d say this is a pretty solid party appetizer.

Leave a Reply

