Sweet Potato and Black Bean Cakes

There wasn’t much food around the house a week or so ago. I had to shop from my pantry and figure out something to make on short notice (as in I’m starving and dinner should have been 10 minutes ago). I had seen this recipe for spicy black beans cakes, so I improvised and came up with something close to it.

Dscn3484

My ingredients:

1 can sweet potato

2 cans black beans

1 green pepper

1/2 red onion

1 egg

panko bread crumbs

Spices: cumin, salt, pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes

I followed the recipe as it is written, just using the ingredients listed above.

I started by cooking the veggies.

Dscn3481

Once the veggies were done, I left them cool a bit, then added all the ingredients to a large bowl.

Dscn3482

I squished everything together with my hands and made 6 individual cakes. I broiled the cakes, turning the pan halfway for even cooking.

For the sour cream, I added some lime juice and zest, then plopped a dollop on each cake. I served each bean cake on top of some fresh spinach, then squirted more lime juice on everything.

Dscn3485

To my surprise, it came out delicious, and it was healthy to boot. I’d call this a success!

Some notes to make this dish better in the future (there’s always room for improvement):

 – Even though I thought I loaded these cakes with spices, they were a little bland. We even added some hot sauce to the top to give them a little more fire. This could be the result of my using a green pepper instead of a jalapeno pepper. Next time, I’ll make sure to give the cakes more kick.

 – A fresh sweet potato probably would have worked better for this dish. But, we seem to go through potatoes so slowly, so I usually refrain from buying them. That, and the fact that I got 12 huge cans of sweet potato from Costco for $0.97 (it was right after the holidays) led to my use of canned instead of fresh. Go fresh. I will once the other 11 cans get eaten.

 – Spray the heck out of the pan. My cakes stuck a little when I tried to turn them. I ended up with 4 cakes and 2 piles of black bean mash.

2 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Black Bean Cakes

Leave a Reply

