Mellark Bakery’s Apple and Goat Cheese Tart

I attended book club yesterday with my sorority sisters. The book: The Hunger Games

To go with the Hunger Games theme, I made an apple and goat cheese tart.

Dscn3490

Unlike the people of District 12 (even the Mellark family) we were able to eat such a rich dessert without even having to wait for it to go stale.

I was quite surprised to see how many recipes came up when I googled this dessert. It appears some people are crazy Hunger Games fans. I even found a website that contained recipes for almost all of the meals mentioned in the book. Some people must have a lot of time on their hands.

Anyways, I used a combination of recipes and came up with my own creation. The closest recipe to what I ended up going with is this one.

It was pretty easy, actually. I started with refrigerated pie crust, and spread it in a pie pan. I brushed the inside with an egg wash, to keep the custard from seeping through the crust while baking.

Next, I turned my attention to making the goat cheese filling. I whisked all the ingredients together, poured it into the crust, then baked it at 350 for 30 minutes, turning the pan halfway through.

While the crust and custard were baking, I made a mixture that came out very similar to apple pie filling. I was plesantly surprised at how thick it became.

Dscn3487

When the 30 minutes was up, I took the tart out of the oven and let it sit for a little bit. I needed the custard to harden a bit so that the apple filling didn’t seep through it.

Dscn3489

After about 5 minutes, I poured the apple mixture on top and returned the pan to the oven.

I baked it for another 20 minutes, then took it out of the oven and put the pan on a cooling rack.

Dscn3492

Hunger Games-based or not, the tart was really good. I just may be making this again soon.

Leave a Reply

