My Jam Plan

I finally did it. I made jelly.

Dscn3386

I had been wanting to try to make it for a while, but the pectin and the can sterilization scared me off. Then, I found this recipe (via pinterest, I LOVE that website!), which includes only ingredients I was familiar with – strawberries, rhubarb, sugar, etc. – so I tried it out.

It took a while, much longer than I thought it would. But the end result was phenomenal! I have never tasted such fresh jelly.

I followed the recipe exactly as it was written because I was afraid I’d end up with a gloppy mess if I didn’t.

I was a bit skeptical on how all of this

Dscn3383

would boil down and make jam, but it worked.

The jelly turned out great, and lately, we’ve been using it on everything from eggos to

toast to

Dscn3419

yogurt.

Dscn3399

The only bad thing about this jelly is its short shelf life. Because there are no additives or preservatives, this jelly can hold for only 2-3 weeks in the fridge. Luckily, that whole recipe only produced one medium-sized can’s worth of jelly, so it isn’t too difficult to eat it all before it goes bad.

I enjoyed making this and I hope to find more easy jam recipes to try soon.

Leave a Reply

