Summertime Itch – A To Do List

Memorial Day weekend is the unofficial start of summer to me, even though it doesn’t officially start until June 20.

Once that glorious 3-day weekend starts, all of my thoughts go to summer activities I’ve been itching to do since it got cold last year. Usually, I’m able to get all the summer basics in before September. Stuff like heading to the beach, eating outside, grilling as much as possible, and going on summer night walks. But, every year, there seems to be some summer staple I miss out on doing because I don’t think about it until too late.

Not this year.

To start me off on the right foot, I thought of a list of things I absolutely want to make sure Dan and I get to do before the weather turns cold again. To remind us, I wrote out these “summer goals” onto a chalkboard I’m going to place in our entryway, where we’ll get a reminder every day.

Dscn3378

In case you can’t read it, the summer activities I don’t want to miss are:

1. Carnival
2. Drive in
3. Bike path
4. Make limoncello
5. Picnic
6. Beach volleyball
7. Pool
8. BBQ
9. Garage sales
10. Boat ride
11. Canoe
12. Summerdance
13. Mini golf
14. Movie in the Park
15. Make ice cream
16. Outdoor brunch
17. See fireworks
18. Book club
19. Garden (I’m growing herbs.)
20. Bonfire/s’mores
21. Farmers market
22. Wineries/Breweries
23. Make fresh fruit pancakes

Dscn3380

I came up with this list thinking of past summer favorites while keeping the list more adult. In looking for inspiration online, I saw a ton of ideas of summer goals for families with kids, but obviously, that doesn’t apply here, even though I would like to learn how to make play doh some day. Hopefully, I’ll be able to start checking items off the list this coming long weekend!

Dscn3379

What things are you excited to do this summer?

2 thoughts on “Summertime Itch – A To Do List

Leave a Reply

