Mother’s Day Recap

Happy belated Mother’s Day to all. I hope you had a fantastic day!

We started out, as become our tradition, at the Y-Me Mother’s Day Race. My mom, Dan, my in-laws, Phoebe, and I completed the 5K.

Dscn3301

It’s really fun in that some local teams organize a race on the Northwest side of Chicago. So, instead of waking up early, rushing downtown, finding parking, and finally getting to the race, we drove a few minutes away and got to walk through our local neighborhood. With travel time so low, we had more of Mother’s Day to do fun stuff.

Thank you to everyone who donated!

Here is my mom and I at the end of the race.

Dscn3303

Afterwards, we went back to my parents’ house and my dad had a wonderful food spread just waiting for us.

I contributed by baking some lemon cupcakes with coconut frosting. They smelled delicious when I was making them and I couldn’t wait to dig in. I’ll admit, the cupcakes came from a mix, so I don’t have any baking directions this time. I just followed how the package said to make them.

Dscn3296

Both mothers commented on how pretty the cupcakes looked with the colorful wrapper and flower toppers.

Dscn3297

I’ll let you in on a secret. They’re clearance items I bought that were leftover from Easter. Can you believe it? I think the pack which contained 24 wrappers and 24 flower toppers was $4.99 before Easter. Afterwards, I think I snagged the whole set for less than $1.

Once we were all quite full, the athletic half of the family went for a bike ride (yep, after completing a 5K!). My mom and I took it easy and headed for some serious shopping. The haul: mom got a new lamp found on clearance at Homegoods. I got a dress and some frames at TJ Maxx.

It was surely a fun day had by all! I hope you got to enjoy the beautiful day with your mom!

Leave a Reply

