Creamsicle Cake

My dad’s birthday was last week. We celebrated on Saturday, and as usual, I volunteered to bring the party cake. I went with a flavor I knew he would love – creamsicle!

Dscn3273

I tried to figure out how to make it without breaking the calorie bank. A while back, I had seen a great idea on pinterest. You add diet pop to cake mix (no eggs, no vegetable oil), and it help keeps the calories down. I decided to give it a whirl.

This cake needs only 4 ingredients:

Dscn3258

White cake mix, 12 oz of diet orange pop, a tub of cool whip, and an orange.

Start by pouring the cake mix into a bowl. Add 12 oz (1.5 cups) of pop. I stirred it a few times with a plastic spoon, then used a hand mixer for about a minute.

Dscn3259

Next, cut the orange in half. Zest half the orange and add it to the batter. Squeeze that half’s juice in as well, and use the mixer for another 30 seconds.

I decided to make a 3 layer cake, so I poured a third of the batter into each 9 inch cake pan.

Bake each layer for about 16-20 minutes, turning once half way.

Let the layers cool completely.

Dscn3264

While the cake is cooling, start making the frosting.

Pour the cool whip into a bowl. Zest the other half of the orange and squeeze the juice out of it. Add to the frosting.

Put one layer of cake on a place. Scoop a generous layer of cool whip on top.

Dscn3266

Do the same two more times. Use the remainder of the frosting to fully cover the cake.

Dscn3267

Keep refrigerated until serving.

Dscn3272

Leave a Reply

