Weekend Cooking

Pretty much since Thanksgiving, Dan and I have been busy every weekend. I’m kind of a homebody, so I miss having some down time relaxing in my sweatpants on the couch. Last weekend, we had a rare Saturday night free, so Dan and I decided to cook up a meal together.

We had a bunch of veggies around the house, so I thought I’d try to find some recipes that used them. I settled on a butternut squash torte, modified from this recipe,

Dscn3059

and healthy cream of asparagas soup.

Dscn3058

In the torte, I substituted fresh spinach for kale, left out the tomatoes (we didn’t have any), and changed the red onion to yellow onion. The torte was good, but it probably would have been better with the red onion instead. Still, all the cheese (there was provolone slices and grated parmesean reggiano) made this dish delicious.

Dscn3056

As for the soup, I followed the recipe exactly, making sure to let the ingredients simmer together before adding in the sour cream and pureeing.

Dscn3053

It was OK, but not sure I’d make it again.

I think the biggest issue with dinner was the high volume of onion. The dishes seemed to fight each other instead of complementing one another. Oh well. Next time, I’ll pair the torte with a different kind of soup.

Leave a Reply

