New Year, New Savings Tally

Well hello, 2012. You snuck up on me there, but I’ve gotten used to having you around.

Since it’s a new year, I’m jumping on the New Year’s Resolutions bandwagon.

1. Be healthier.
No reading labels, cutting out all sugar, or making sure everything I eat is made with 100% whole wheat grain. That kind of stuff makes me sure to fail. Little things like taking a mile long walk with Phoebe every day, adding more veggies to my diet, and hopefully making some better choices when I’m eating out (like picking the grilled chicken instead of the burger and fries). The less dramatic changes I make in my life, the more likely I am to reach my goal.

2. Make time.
I am constantly putting things off because I think I don’t have time for it. Why not? So I go to bed a little later or I make an easier meal for dinner. If it’s important to me, I’ll make it happen.

3. Stay organized.
I’m especially thinking of my closets with this goal. I’m pretty lazy when it comes to putting things back in their proper place. What’s the point of having bought baskets for the bathroom closet and organizing things by use if it never stays that way?

I have two more resolutions that aren’t really things I’d like to start, but instead, things I’d like to continue to do.

1. Keep up the weekly girls’ nights.
Sometimes it’s the whole group meeting at someone’s house for a dinner party, and other times it’s a quick dinner out. In any case, I’d like to continue setting aside Thursdays for the girls.

2. Keep up the saving.
I’ve done a pretty amazing job with my couponing efforts. It’s really paid off. When I started doing the tally to see how much I’d saved from August (when I started couponing, scanning sale ads, and sending in rebates), I didn’t really expect much. A few dollars per trip didn’t seem like it would add up. Then I got better at couponing and was almost always able to save at least as much as I spent on each shopping trip.

The way I did my final tally here was nothing special. At first, I kept receipts, but my drawer was becoming messy and full of paper. Instead, I started to write down the total amount saved from each shopping trip onto another piece of paper, which I separated by store.

Total Savings: $505.54

Extrapolating, if I had started couponing in January, I would have saved over $1,000! And that’s just on groceries!

Couponing, for me, also includes finding deals on restaurants, clothing, and any other items you need to buy. Dan often laughs at me because when he asks where I want to go to dinner, I’ll direct him to a stack of restaurant gift certificates and deals I’ve bought and I’ll tell him to pick from those restaurants.

Do you have any new year resolutions? Happy 2012!

Leave a Reply

