I Bake

With the holiday season comes cakes and cookies abound. I thought I’d give you a peak of all of the baked goods my kitchen has seen this holiday season.

It all started with a Desserts & Drinks holiday party I hosted a few weeks ago. There, I served popcorn puffs,

Dscn2809

eggnog cupcakes with rum glaze and cheesecake brownies,

Dscn2810

and chai gingerbread bars.

Dscn2811

At the party, we had a cookie exchange in lieu of giving gifts. My homemade treat? Peppermint macarons.

Dscn2813

I usually give treats as part of my gifts to people, usually with coffee, tea mix, hot chocolate, a cookie jar, well, you get the idea.

This year was no different. I made peppermint biscotti,

Dscn2849

and chocolate biscotti.

Dscn2851

For those with furry friends, I baked some sweet potato and peanut butter treats.

Dscn2852

Not pictured: the ooey gooey chocolate cookies that have quickly become a favorite of many of my friends.

Then, for Christmas Eve and Christmas day, I baked some more.

I didn’t snap a photo of my eggnog pound cake for Christmas Eve, but I did get a quick shot of the Christmas Cookie Balls (much like these Halloween cookie balls) I made for the little kids in my family.

Dscn2902

Saving the best for last, my grandma taught me how to make a childhood favorite Italian cookie. She calls it befana.

Dscn2782

I was so glad she took the time to teach me. I’ll be sure to make these holiday staple cookies for years to come.

I’m not quite done with all the baking yet. I still have two New Year’s Eve events to bake for, and I haven’t yet decided what to make. Requests?

 

Leave a Reply

