Hearty Fall Couscous

How is it that I didn’t discover couscous until recently? I mean, it’s such a neutral dish base – you can put anything in it. I guess that pasta has always been my blank palate of choice. Must be an Italian thing.

I made this tasty couscous dish for dinner a little while back and had great results.

Dscn2589

I love that this meal is just packed with veggies. The couscous was whole grain too, so this was quite a healthy meal.

I started out with this as the base recipe, but I made some changes.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Dscn2587

1/2lb butter nut squash, peeled and chopped into pieces
1/2 head of cauliflower
1 medium zucchini
2 carrots
10 oz of uncooked whole grain couscous (ours was from Trader Joe’s)
salt and pepper to taste

I started out with the butternut squash. I put all of it into a microwave safe bowl, added about 2 teaspoons of water, covered it with vented plastic wrap, and let it cook in the microwave for about 6 minutes, stopping half way to stir.

Next, put some foil in a baking pan, and spread the cauliflower and squash out. Salt and pepper to taste, and spray some cooking spray over the top. Broil for about 8 minutes, stirring the veggies once.

Start making the couscous how the package directs. I simply added my couscous to boiling water, turned off the heat, and let it sit there. No salt or butter added.

While the couscous and squash/cauliflower are cooking, start peeling and dicing the carrot. Once chopped, peel the zucchini and use the peeler to create zucchini “ribbons.” Add the carrots to a new pot of boiling water and let them cook until softened. When the carrots have about a minute left, throw in the zucchini ribbons.

Once everything is cooked, drain the carrots/zucchini, remove the squash/cauliflower from the oven, and fluff the couscous with a fork. Toss everything into a large serving bowl. For the sauce, melt about 2 tablespoons of butter with 1/4 cup of Asian chili sauce. pour the sauce over the top.

Dscn2590

This recipe will make A LOT of couscous. We got dinner and and least two lunches a piece out of it.

I really like the almost sweet flavor that the roasting did to the squash and cauliflower. We’re not big cauliflower eaters in our house, but this recipe definitely left me wanting more.

In case you’re looking for some side dish and drink pairings, we ate the couscous with some butternut squash soup (we got a lot of soup out of this recipe!) and drank some cranberry wine too.

Dscn2591

Some easy variations on this meal would be to add in some grilled chicken or any other veggies you’d like, especially mushrooms.

2 thoughts on “Hearty Fall Couscous

  1. YUM! Coming to dinner at your house. I love cous cous, usually I just serve it plain with a pat of butter on top as a side dish, super versatile!

  2. Please do come for dinner! Then, I’d actually get to see you! Yes, I’m a fan of couscous and I really like that in this recipe, adding a ton of veggies to it makes this a main dish.

Leave a Reply

