Butternut Squash Soup Goodness

As I’m sure you’ve picked up, I love all things fall. Butternut squash is one of those great fall foods that I can’t get enough of right now. I’m obsessed with it. So, I made some soup.

Butternet_squash_soup

Yes, that is a stock photo from the Food Network. I didn’t take any photos of the soup, probably because I was too busy eating it.

In any case, I got this recipe from my dear friend Lauren as a response to my Apple Picking post. Yep, there are apples in there.

Ingredients:
1 yellow onion, chopped
A few shakes of celery salt
1 carrot, chopped
1 Tbsp butter
1 2 lb. butternut squash, peeled, seeds removed, chopped
1 apple, peeled, cored, chopped
(squash and apple should be at a 3 to 1 ratio)
3 cups chicken broth (or vegetable broth if vegetarian)

This soup couldn’t be easier to make. The hardest part was chopping everything up.

Combine butter, onion, celery salt, and carrot in large saucepan. Cook for 5 minutes. Add squash, apple, and broth. Bring to boil. Simmer until the squash is soft. We left our squash simmering for quite a while (we may have forgotten about it), but it was fine.

Once we remembered, the squash was a bit mushy, and we pureed it in our blender. Do this step in a couple batches. If you put too much in the blender, the lid may fly off and you might get liquid everywhere. Not that it ever happened to me, I’m just saying it could happen.

I actually made this soup for us to eat throughout the week instead of right then, so once the soup cooled, we put it in a container and into the fridge. It re-heats deliciously.

For spices, you can go wild with cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, pepper, or any other spice. We kept it simple by adding just salt and pepper. A great topper is also smashed up pita chips.

So far, we’ve gotten four bowls out of the recipe, and there is easily three bowls left. These were side servings, not the whole meal, but still, I was pretty impressed by how far the recipe stretched.

I’ve had other butternut squash soups, but this recipe is by far my favorite. I think it may be because, unlike other recipes, this one uses an apple. It’s a touch of unexpected sweetness and just gives the dish an extra something. Try it.

2 thoughts on “Butternut Squash Soup Goodness

  1. We loved it. Best butternut squash soup I’ve had.Let me know how the popcorn goes! Maybe you can even guest blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

