Butter Me Up

I’m finally getting around to writing about what I did with some of those apples I picked with my family late last month.

I made some apple butter!

Dscn2575

This recipe combined some of my favorite things:
1. Using up those hand-picked apples before they went to waste.
2. Cooking the apples in my slow cooker (can’t get enough of that handy gadget!).
3. Making the house smell like apples and cinnamon. Mmmmmm.
4. Putting to use the “fall” spices – nutmeg and cloves.

Here’s the easy recipe:
6 apples, peeled and chopped
1 cup apple juice
1 tablespoon cinnamon (heaping)
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg (heaping)
1/4 teaspoon ground gloves (heaping)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 whole lemon peel (though mine was in a couple pieces since I’m not that good with a knife)

Throw all of the ingredients in your crock pot. I put my apples in first and covered them with the rest of the ingredients.

Dscn2569

Turn the temperature up to high and let it cook all day. Mine cooked for about six hours.

Dscn2571

I left the lid off for the last hour, which helped reduce the amount of liquid.

Remove the lemon peel, spoon into a jar, and that’s it. You can puree the mixture if you prefer a smooth consistency, but I left mine chunky.

Enjoy on toast, bagels, English muffins, scones (like us), or whatever else your heart desires.

Dscn2576

Leave a Reply

