A Semi-DIY Gift

I strongly believe that a homemade gift or a themed gift are the best kind of presents to give (and to get).

For example, when my friend Margie had her bridal shower, I gave her a set of wine glasses paired with some wines named for the occasion. Nothing says bridal shower like wines named Mad Housewife and True Love.

Mad_housewife_wine

My friend Kelly lives in Seattle, and when her bridal shower invitation came, I ordered up some champagne flutes that were delivered to her door. I didn’t want her to worry about getting the very breakable glasses home. I wanted her to have something to open at the shower, so I gave her a bottle of champagne that her and her fiance (who was also at the shower) could enjoy here at home while visiting.[[posterous-content:pid___1]]For my friend Lauren’s bachelorette party, I capitalized on her love of popcorn and designed her gift around the theme of a romantic night in. She got a big popcorn bowl, different popcorn seasonings, dark chocolate, a bottle of wine, and a comfy nighty.

Dscn0674

A few weeks ago, my cousin had a birthday and I gave her a true baker’s gift. She loves Veruca Salt cupcakes from Bleeding Heart Bakery, so I got her a whole set so she could make her own – a book written by the bakery’s owners that included the Veruca Salt recipe, some cupcake liners, and of course, some Veruca Salt cupcakes themselves.

Bleeding_heart_book

All of those gifts involved just a little bit of creative thinking on my part to get a theme, and I just went from there. But lately, I wanted to start doing more DIY gifts, where I actually make a part of the gift itself. I gave my first semi-homemade gift to my friend Becky over the weekend.

When I moved into my apartment with my husband, she brought me what she called a traditional Polish housewarming gift which consisted of a bag of coffee, some salt, and a bottle of wine. To celebrate her new apartment, which I was seeing for the first time, I’d give her the same lovely gift, with a couple twists.

I got her the wine, a salt and pepper combo pack, and some Starbucks frappuccinos (that counts as coffee). I also threw in a creamer in the shape of a cow because when we were kids, she collected everything cow-related. I’m sure she’s stopped adding to her collection long ago, but when I saw the cow creamer with its fun black spots, I couldn’t resist.[[posterous-content:pid___4]]

Finally, I DIY’d the tote bag to put everything in to give to her, and the tote bag I knew she would use on her grocery trips and on her walk to work. I took a plain natural fiber tote bag and ironed on an X-Men image. Yep, she’s a big comic book fan. Lucky for me, so is my husband and he helped me out by picking out an image for me to use. I printed it on some iron on paper, then ironed it right onto the bag.

Dscn2528

I really liked making it, and even though it was a super easy project to do, I really felt like it added to the gift.

Dscn2530

Have you ever DIY’d a present for someone else?

2 thoughts on “A Semi-DIY Gift

  1. Yes…..ask Dan about the suitcases I made for his Warhammer collection. I downloaded pictures from the internet and I also think I used some of the pictures off the boxes the figures came in. I bought the cases from a resale shop, cleaned them up and painted them, then decoupaged the pictures on the outside of them. Then, I got foam from Joanne Fabrics for the inside to rest the figures in. They’re in our crawl space now…..you guys could probably sell them on e-bay (meaning the Warhammer figures) for a few bucks !!!!

Leave a Reply

