Lazy Weekend Blueberry Pancakes

Weekday mornings, from the time I wake up until the time I get to the office, are a complete blur. I’m tired, stumbling around, and trying to get ready as fast as I can before traffic gets too terrible. Half the time, I call Dan to ask him to check and make sure I’ve closed the garage door. More often than not, I don’t actually remember driving to work. Not good.

On the weekends, I cherish the slower pace. Everything we do is at a crawl. We make coffee. We sit and read the Sunday newspaper. We stay in our pajamas well into the afternoon. Showers are optional, and we usually opt not to take one. Our days consist of time at the pool, the dog park, the farmer’s market, a craft project or two, a wine tasting at the corner wine store, and an easy to make dinner. Of course, that’s the ideal weekend, when we’re not running around like crazy people with more plans than we can handle.

On those relaxing kind of weekends, Dan and I love to take the time to make breakfast together. My favorite weekend breakfast is this recipe for healthy blueberry pancakes.

Dscn2090
Ingredients:
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 egg
1 cup milk, plus a little extra
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup blueberries

Mix the flour and baking powder together. Next, beat together the egg, milk, salt, and sugar.

Dscn2086

Stir the flour mixture into the egg mixture. Mix in the berries.

Dscn2087

Pour over a hot griddle and cook until slightly brown.

Dscn2089
Surprisingly, these pancakes are quite sweet on their own. I usually eat them with my hands when they are cool enough to touch. Dan prefers his with maple syrup.

Make extras and freeze them. You’ll be able to enjoy your lazy weekend pancakes during the busy work week.
One thought on “Lazy Weekend Blueberry Pancakes

Leave a Reply

