Just Call Me the Dessert Lady

Whenever there is a party happening, and people are asked to bring something, I always volunteer to bring the dessert. Even better, people are starting to ask me to bring the dessert – either with a specific request or letting me choose. Guess I must make some tasty treats.

This past weekend, I had two events where I shared some of me baked goods.

The first was my friend Lauren’s birthday dinner. You remember Lauren, right?
Laur_cropped
It was her birthday and she cooked us dinner. How nice of her!

I knew the other three lovely ladies that would be with me that evening are chocolate eaters. It’s weird, I love to bake, I love sweets, but I’m just not a huge fan of chocolate. That means I don’t tend to bake chocolate very often, much to all of my friends’ dismay. This time though, I went all out. They wanted chocolate, they got chocolate!
Dscn2242
I made S’mores cake. And it was completely of my own creation.

Usually, I look for and follow recipes when I make desserts. I’m not the most creative of all people, but I can sure follow a recipe and replicate something I see. That’s why I was so proud of this cake – I made it up on my own.

Truth be told, nothing in this cake is from scratch. That’s what happens when the dinner is on a Friday night and you don’t get home early either Thursday or Friday. But,  it was delicious. And easy to make.

I started with chocolate cake mix bought in a box from the store. I used Duncan Hines Devil’s Food Cake, but you can use any kind. I made used two 8-inch round cake pans, one for each layer.
Dscn2229

Once each layer was baked and had time to cool, I got to work. I used some fancy s’mores flavor frosting and smeared that on top of one of the cakes.

Dscn2230
I finely crushed about 2 graham crackers and sprinkled that on top of the frosting.
Dscn2232

Then, I put the other cake on top of the first one. I pressed them together, and tried to make the cake look even.

Dscn2233
I took my store bought frosting and iced the whole cake.
Dscn2235

To finish it off, I arranged a bunch of mini marshmallows and graham cracker pieces on top.

It was delicious and a hit at the party.

Dscn2243

Happy birthday, Lauren!

Check back Wednesday to find out about the other treat I made over the weekend.

2 thoughts on “Just Call Me the Dessert Lady

  1. It was delicious! For some reason I thought there was coconut as part of that frosting in the middle. I guess I would really stink at Top Chef 🙂

Leave a Reply

