Pasta with Lemon and Asparagus

I’m a fan of pasta dishes for a quick weeknight dinner. To keep it light, I usually omit the heavy red sauce and stick with whole wheat pasta. I also try to sneak in some extra veggies where I can. Last night, I was at work late and I had some asparagus that I needed to use up soon. I looked around at what else we had: leftover whole milk from making ice cream and half a lemon and tried to figure out a dish I could make. I think it worked out pretty well.
Dscn2153
Ingredients:
1 whole package of whole wheat angel hair pasta
1 bunch of asparagus
2 1/2 cups whole milk
6 heaping teaspoons of whole grain mustard
1 teaspoon salt (plus more for boiling the pasta)
1 teaspoon black pepper
6 teaspoons flour
2 teaspoons garlic powder
3 teaspoons of dried basil
Half a lemon – zest and juice
1/4 cup of grated Parmesan cheese, plus more for serving, if desired

I started by bringing a pot of water to a boil. Meanwhile, I cut off the ends of the asparagus and chopped it into pieces that were about an inch long.
Dscn2151
Once the water boils, dump in the pasta. I let mine cook for about 7 minutes. During the last 3 minutes, I added the asparagus. After all 7 minutes is up, drain the water and return the pasta and asparagus to the pot.

I then began to work on the sauce. I put the milk, mustard, salt, pepper, flour, and garlic powder into a sauce pan. I heated it, kept stirring, and let the sauce thicken up a bit.
Dscn2152
Once the sauce was just about ready, I added in the basil, lemon juice, and lemon zest. Pour the sauce over the pasta and add in the cheese. Stir until the cheese is melted and the pasta is covered with sauce.

This recipe works as a great staple and you can add pretty much any type of veggie or even some beans to it. I would suggest broccoli, onion, bell peppers, or even white beans. You can also add in some grilled chicken. For extra heat, definitely try some crushed red pepper.

I had a ton for leftovers the next day. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

