My First Bread Success

Baking bread scares me. I’ve tried to bake some on a couple occasions, and the result has never been good…until now.
Dscn1452

But before this, the healthy banana bread I made came out of the oven with burned crusts, but a gooey inside. I later learned I should have used a bundt pan instead of a loaf pan. The cinnamon bread I made didn’t rise at all! Seriously, it was a rolled up cinnamon log when it came out of the oven. Never figured out what went wrong there.

Imagine my delight when I decided to make zucchini bread, and this came out of the oven.
Dscn1269

Light, fluffy, the perfect consistency. Success!

I credit it all to my Auntie Valerie’s recipe, which she gave me as part of my wedding shower gift last year. I’ve been seeing recipe cards in many of the bridal shower invitations I’ve received lately. I think it’s a great way for the bride-to-be to stock up on recipes she knows will work, and to collect the recipes for the traditional family dishes she grew up loving. My maid of honor sent out recipe cards with my shower invitation, and I was so glad she did. Here’s the one for zucchini bread.
Dscn1257

My Auntie Valerie had a whole theme going with her shower gift: cake dome, cake server, and the zucchini bread recipe. Fancy! Here I am opening her gift.
Dscn0302

The recipe is really easy. Here’s what you need:

Dscn1246

2 cups raw grated zucchini
3 eggs
2 1/4 cups sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon bakingpowder
3 teaspoons cinnamon
3 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup nuts (optional)

Start by preheating the over to 350 degrees. Grease a bundt pan and set aside. Grate the zucchini.

Cream together the eggs, sugar, and oil. I used my stand mixer foe this step, which makes it a million times easier than using a hand mixer.
Dscn1249

Add in the salt, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and vanilla. Mix well.

Gradually add in the flour, one cup at a time, and mix. Finally, add the zucchini and the nuts. Mix gently just until all the ingredients are combined.

Pour batter into the bundt pan.
Dscn1254

Bake for one hour, until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let the bread cool in the pan, then invert the pan onto a plate. The bread should slide right out.

Here’s the finished product displayed in my cake dome.

Dscn1450

Perfection.

Leave a Reply

