Be Sweet to your Mother

Yesterday, I had a great day with my mom.

Mom_andi_cropped

We started off the day at the Network of Strength Walk. Some local women truly outdid themselves this year. While the big walk in Chicago is  downtown, these ladies organize a walk every year through a local neighborhood. This year, the walk was held in Edison Park and started at St. Juliana’s. The whole 5K was mapped out for us andafterwards, there was a lovely party with music, lunch, desserts, and of course, gallon and gallons of ice cold water.

I was lucky to be able to spend Mother’s Day not just with my own mother, but with my new extended family as well. Here’s a group photo of the walkers I  was with – my husband, my mother, my in-laws, and Phoebe.

Group_cropped

Here’s Phoebe on the way home. She doesn’t look it, but she was pooped. And she’s rocking pink.

Dscn1592

All totaled, I raised $320 for the cause. Thank you so much to everyone who donated.

Afterwards, the whole clan headed back to my parents’ house for a tasty lunch my dad had prepared. You guessed right, I made dessert!

Dscn1594Dscn1595

This is a Nutella Swirl Pound Cake. My cousin, Rosemarie, makes this dish for many of our family gatherings and it’s always a hit. My mom really likes it, so I thought I’d take a stab at making it for Mother’s Day. This recipe was originally found by Rosemarie in Food & Wine magazine. It features a yummy ingredient: Nutella.

Dscn1577

Here’s what you need:  

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour 

4 large eggs, at room temperature 

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract 

3/4 teaspoon baking powder 

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened 

1 1/4 cups sugar

One 13-ounce jar Nutella 

Set the oven to 325 degrees. Grease a loaf pan and set it aside.

Whisk together the eggs and the vanilla

Dscn1570

In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
Dscn1571

In a large bowl, using a handheld mixer, beat the butter with the sugar at medium-high speed until fluffy, about 3 minutes.
Dscn1576

Oh, and if you have a dog like Phoebe, let her lick the butter that got stuck to the wrapper. She’ll love it.

Dscn1572

With the mixer at medium-low speed, gradually beat in the egg mixture until fully incorporated. Add the flour mixture in 3 batches, beating at low speed between additions until just incorporated. Continue to beat for 30 seconds longer.

Spread one-third of the batter in the prepared pan.
Dscn1579

Spread half of the Nutella on top. Repeat with another third of the batter and the remaining Nutella. Top with the remaining batter. Lightly swirl the Nutella into the batter with a butter knife.
Dscn1580Swirl_crop
Bake the cake for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let the cake cool in the pan for 15 minutes. Put the cake on a plate and serve. Yum.
2 thoughts on “Be Sweet to your Mother

Leave a Reply

