Birthday Spumoni Cake

My dad celebrated a birthday this past weekend. Happy birthday, Dad!

He blew out candles on a homemade Spumoni Cake I had baked for the occasion.

 

Dscn1537

My dad’s favorite kind of ice cream is spumoni, so I thought I’d try to whip up a cake based on the ice cream. I was a little short on time due to a bunch of errands I needed to run and the fact that the car ended up in the shop hours before Dad’s birthday dinner, so I used a ready to make mix as my cake base.

Start with these ingredients.

 4 eggs
1 box yellow cake mix
1 box pistachio Jello
1 1/3 cup skim milk
1/3 cup butter (melted)
15 maraschino cherries (chopped)
1/4 cup crushed pecans (optional)

I started by putting the yellow cake mix, the box of pistachio pudding mix, the eggs, and the milk in a big mixing bowl. Next, I cut up the maraschino cherries and removed any stems I saw.

Dscn1521

I added the cherries to the bowl.

 

Dscn1525

Then, I mixed. The batter was a little lumpy, but I hesitated to use my hand held mixer on the batter because I wanted chunks of the cherries, not teeny, tiny pieces. Don’t worry, I called for some back up. Dan’s arm got a nice work out.

Once the batter looked thoroughly mixed, I added in the chocolate chips and the pecans.
 

Dscn1526

Stir it up again, just until the chocolate chips and nuts are mixed in, and the batter is ready.

Pour the batter into a well-greased bundt pan. Get all the little crevices so the cake doesn’t stick.

 

Dscn1530
Bake the cake at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Let the cake cool completely in the pan.
 

Dscn1533

Once cooled, turn the pan over and the cake should fall right out onto your dish.
 

Dscn1534

I ended up sprinking a little bit of powdered sugar on top, for extra sweetness. If you wanted, a cherry frosting would probably taste really good with this cake, since the bits of cherry give an understated cherry taste to the cake.

Dscn1538

The verdict? He liked it! While it didn’t taste exactly like spumoni ice cream, it was a tasty cake.

Dscn1540
Leave a Reply

